HDS – Understanding Microcode definition

Print Friendly

Those who know, it might seem very trivial what is the meaning of terms used by HDS to refer to various microcode releases. But when I tried to look up the meaning of them, mighty google failed, and had to ask our HDS support engineer to for more explanation. And here is how I understand it:

A code is either:

GA = General Availability – a code released to all customers
RGA = Recommended General Availability – Recommended by HDS to upgrade your arrays to if possible
MGA = Mandatory General Availability – Minimum you should have this in order to get full support

The sequence from most recent to oldest is – GA -> RGA -> Below RGA (BRGA) -> MGA -> BMGA.

If your array is BMGA, and you have an issue, the first thing they will ask is to bring it to MGA. Sometimes when a release has fixed lots of bugs, it becomes MGA bypassing RGA.

An example:
For AMS2100/2300/2500 as of 19/01/2012:

RGA and Higher: 08B5/K, 08B5/H, 08B5/F, 08B5/D
Below RGA: 08B5/B, 08B5/A, 08B3/B, 08B0/B, 08A0/J, and a few others
Below MGA: 0897/C, 0897/B, 0893/E, 0893/B, 0890/H, and a few others

, , , , ,


2 Responses to “HDS – Understanding Microcode definition”

  1. Howdy just wanted to give you a quick heads up. The text in your article sseem to bee runnung off the screen in Opera.
    I’m not sure if this is a format issue or something to do with browser compatibility but I figured I’d post to let you know.

    Thhe layout look great though! Hope yyou get the problem solved soon. Thanks

    • Ketan Patel
      Ketan Patel 28/07/2014 at 7:55 am # Reply

      Hi Steve, wasn’t aware of the display issue on Opera. Googled around, and discovered that the issue is with Opera browser, arising mainly because of the way it handles HTML/CSS. I hope these issues get addressed in future versions of WordPress. Thanks for your feedback though.

Leave a Reply